This store requires javascript to be enabled for some features to work correctly.


Rachel Maclean: Wot u :-) About?

  • £17.99
  • £19.99
- 10%
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This is the first monograph on Scottish multimedia Rachel Maclean (born 1986). Exploring themes such as childhood, identity, consumerism and the media, Maclean's work uses the visual tropes and references of the internet era to create a biting critique of contemporary life.

Centred on a linked body of new work, Wot u :-) about? includes a large format print series, We Want Data! (2016), developed during a residency at Artpace, San Antonio, plus a new film commission for HOME, It’s What’s Inside That Counts (2016). These will premiere alongside larger-than-life figurative sculptures directly relating to and overlapping with the props, costumes and aesthetic within the films.

Resembling hybrids of bored commuters, cutesy kids’ TV monsters and sickeningly engorged biological organs, the sculptural figures also function as inanimate viewers for a series of infographic videos, displaying spreadsheets, bar graphs and market research surveys to their unblinking users. Playing on ideas about the cult of youth and the exaggerated enthusiasm of happiness marketing, they take the form of part playground-equipment, part grotesque and bloated mannequins, which upon closer inspection are being eaten alive by swarms of razor-toothed dolls.

HOME are also releasing the first major publication of Rachel Maclean’s sweeter-than-candy adventures, featuring comprehensive imagery, stills and drawings from her dark, self-generated fairytale landscapes.

Publication with HOME, Cornerhouse.

Paperback, 160 pages