History Is Now: 7 Artists Take On Britain



In History Is Now: 7 Artists Take On Britain, John Akomfrah, Simon Fujiwara, Roger Hiorns, Hannah Starkey, Richard Wentworth, and Jane and Louise Wilson explore the nation’s recent past through over 250 artworks, images and objects.

Spanning the years from 1945 to the present day, their varied curatorial ‘takes’ on the UK offer fresh perspectives on themes as diverse as the Cold War, protest movements, feminism, BSE, post-Thatcherite society and celebrity culture. The artists’ visual explorations are interwoven with newly commissioned essays, stories and poetry from journalist Sheila Dillon, architectural historian Adrian Forty, economist Daniel Fujiwara, journalist and writer Charlotte Higgins, novelist and poet Jackie Kay, art historian David Alan Mellor and Hayward Gallery curator Cliff Lauson.

224 pages
29.7 x 22 cm
RRP £30
ISBN 978 1 85332 327 0

Design by Julia

Every purchase supports our arts programme